Are you looking for car insurance in South Carolina for the first time? If yes, then this comprehensive guide will help you with everything you want to know.
The details in this guide will enable you to get the best car insurance quotes SC. It will also help you understand what policies you should purchase and what details you need to get the cheapest insurance. It also offers useful questions to ask your insurer or insurance provider to make sure you get the coverage you need. Let’s deep dive into this guide.
Who Has The Cheapest Car Insurance In South Carolina?
In South Carolina, Auto-Owners, GEICO, and State Farm are the cheapest providers for cheap car insurance SC — the coverage mandated under state law. All three companies’ premiums are 25% lower than the national average of $854 for minimum liability insurance. Moreover, here we have also demonstrated cheap auto insurance SC for various categories like- Cheapest company for full coverage, most affordable for drivers involved with an accident. Let’s have a look at cheap car insurance SC:
Cheapest company for full coverage in South Carolina
Auto-Owners is the perfect option for full-coverage cheap auto insurance SC. This company offers the cheapest car insurance quotes SC, at an estimated cost of $1,627. A full-coverage Auto-Owners package is about half the cost of an equivalent package with Allstate, the state’s most expensive insurance agency.
- State Farm: $1,594 per year
- Auto-Owners: $1,627 per year
- GEICO: $1,754 per year
- Allstate: $2,675
- Progressive: $2,758 per year
Full-coverage auto insurance plans provide both third-party coverage, which covers for the harm you might cause in an accident and first-party coverage, which covers fixing or replacing your own vehicle. These plans are 135% more costly than minimally insurance coverage. Suppose your car is worth more than a hundred thousand dollars. In that case, these policies will help you prevent expensive damages after an accident.
Cheapest for drivers with an accident in South Carolina
South Carolina drivers who’ve been in an accident would find the best deals with State Farm. Choosing this insurer will save you 35% on car insurance premiums with complete coverage compared to the statewide average of $2,879 a year.
- Auto-Owners: $2,159 per year
- Allstate: $2,328 per year
- State Farm: $2,476 per year
- Nationwide: $2,654 per year
- Erie: $2,814 per year
Car insurance premiums usually increase by 36% after an at-fault accident, which amounts to a difference in annual costs of $718 per year.
Cheapest for good drivers with poor credit
The cheapest insurers measured their estimated premiums for maximum coverage for a driver with poor records and decent driving record includes:
- Geico: $2,135 per year
- Travelers: $2,286 per year
- Progressive: $2,357 per year
- Allstate: $2,594 per year
- State Farm: $2,718 per year
If you’ve got a spotty credit background, it is essential to find the best car insurance South Carolina. Bad credit may have a larger impact on auto insurance rates than either a DUI conviction or a recent accident at fault, but policy costs differ.
Who Has The Best Car Insurance In South Carolina?
Selecting the best policy for the lowest price is almost in everyone’s mind. Go with Auto-Owners for best car insurance South Carolina and Auto-Owners is known for customer loyalty, ease of claim procedure, and coverage efficiency.
Auto-owners typically deliver the cheapest car insurance rates in South Carolina. Many drivers may have to pay rates that are below the national average. The company has A++ financial rating from AM Best, which means that it can easily handle its claims obligations.
Beyond the regular options, you can receive the following South Carolina cheap auto insurance SC policies from Auto-Owners:
- Roadside help
- Rental and travel expenses;
- Coverage of loan/lease difference
- Decreased value / new car replacement
- Personal car plus kit, with bonuses including identity fraud security and phone replacement.
Here are some discounts you can get on car insurance in South Carolina with Auto-Owners:
- Payment history
- Green discount
- Advance quote
- Safety features
- Favorable loss of history
- Good student
- Teen driver monitoring
Auto-owners are accredited by the Better Business Bureau (BBB). Auto-Owners mainly works through agents. It means that you need to call an agent to get a quote or claim your South Carolina auto insurance policy. It is convenient to work with the same company to fulfill your insurance needs. The company has a high rating app that lets you check your claim status, view your insurance card, pay your bill, and more.
Best Auto Insurance Companies in South Carolina
The best car insurance South Carolina companies have a good customer service experience for policyholders in times of difficulty. Some drivers may choose to pay extra for premium customer service; with the right business, a lot of drivers can get the best of both worlds: great service and cheap rates.
Below is the illustrated guide about the cheap car insurance SC companies that are commonly available around the country.
Auto-owners have expanded to cover other insurance lines, including life, homes, and business. With more than 5 million policies and a policyholder surplus exceeding $11 billion, Auto owners obtain an A++ financial performance rating from A.M. Best, as has been the case for 48 consecutive years.
- State Farm
State Farm is a successful insurance company offering a wide variety of insurance scheme options, including home and auto insurance. The company makes up for this by providing a variety of discounts such as its Steer Clear Driver Program and delivering excellent customer service.
Allstate is proud of its policies and provides a range of benefits, depending on the situation that may make it the most cost-effective car insurance policy available to other motorists.
Nationwide Insurance is a good pick for those who can afford it, as the auto insurance premiums of the company are usually higher than normal. Nationwide motorcycle insurance plans tend to be much more competitive than most other companies, at lowered premiums.
Progressive, an insurance leading company with over 18 million subscribers, continues to draw and maintain its many loyal clients with a consistent effort to save their customers money on their car insurance premiums.
Geico’s innovative commercials mean they’re one of the country’s best-recognized auto insurance agencies. And their clients know them for the excellent coverage and service they deliver.
There is an auto insurance policy, among other Travelers policies, that you can customize to your needs. A smart customer is a happy company is the belief of travelers.
The United Services Automotive Association will claim the top spot when judging solely based on satisfaction. The company offers services mainly to the military forces, veterans, and their families. That said, USAA still has prices that surpass Geico’s, which will save up to $750 a year.
How To Get The Cheapest Car Insurance In South Carolina?
Many insurance providers offer several discounts, so there are chances that you can avail of cheap car insurance SC. If you insure several cars with the same insurer, you might be eligible for a multi-car discount. Insurers also give discounts to high-quality students and young people who have completed a driver’s course.
South Carolina Auto Insurance premiums are awarded because the insurer perceives you as a better risk. It encourages drivers to apply for incentives such as: getting several vehicles on a schedule; taking driver training courses; buying a car fitted with anti-theft systems, airbags, or other safety equipment; driving fewer miles per year; keeping an accident-free record; and ensuring that your vehicle and home are on the same schedule.
Additional tips issued by the State Insurance Office include:
- Taking the full deduction, you can afford.
- Cross the store and compare the prices.
- Before purchasing a car, assess the cost of the insurance.
- Consider only having liability coverage for vehicles priced under $1,000.
- Charge the fee well in advance of the due date.
- Check the strategy regularly and amend it accordingly.
- When shopping and asking for car insurance quotes SC always shares the same details with each company.
Minimum Auto Insurance Limits Required In South Carolina
The South Carolina auto Insurance policy that satisfies the SC requirements includes three types of coverage: liability coverage, UMPD (uninsured motorist property damage coverage), and UMBI (uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage). The minimum insurance coverage amounts required to drive legally include-
- $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $25,000 property damage liability per accident
- $25,000 UMBI per person
- $50,000 UMBI per accident
- $25,000 UMPD per accident
Let’s discuss all these minimum coverages in details:-
- Bodily Injury (BI): You are responsible for the other party’s medical bills if you inadvertently cause a crash in South Carolina and result in injury to someone. BI pays up to $25,000 per wounded person for that part of the fault, and a limit of $50,000 per injury (when more than one person is injured). Your insurance will even pay for a lawyer if the other driver sues you.
- Property Damage (PD): If the accident involves physical damage to someone else, such as damage to another driver’s vehicle, the PD will step in and pay you up to $25,000 per crash. Your own car will be either your own responsibility or something that you would have covered under accident and comprehensive policies.
- Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury (UMBI): This policy is designed to protect you in the case of a crash caused by an uninsured driver-up to $25,000 per person, on your vehicle a limit of $50,000 per accident; UMBI covers the medical costs ahead of the uninsured driver’s insurance if any. Note that you’ll need to pay $200 of the premium (deductible) in South Carolina before your UMBI coverage kicks in.
Although these caps would follow legal standards, it is prudent for most drivers to have more than just the basic coverage. The required auto insurance would not be enough to cover the crash’s cost in full, and the money left will have to come out of your pocket.
Is South Carolina A No-Fault State?
Unfortunately, road accidents are a frequent occurrence in South Carolina, which can happen to both the safest and most experienced drivers. While traffic, road, and weather conditions frequently lead to car accidents and injuries, the majority result from careless driving habits such as speed, drunk and drive, and using cell phones, and texting behind the wheel.
Unlike so-called “no-fault” systems, South Carolina uses a fault-based system to deal with vehicle collisions, meaning that the at-fault driver alone will be held legitimately responsible for all damages you suffer. In a state of no-fault, an injured party first exhausts its liability benefits, no matter who caused the crash.
South Carolina Insurance Laws
The South Carolina auto Insurance department recommends local motorists be conscious that South Carolina is a tort liability state. It means that victims of injuries or property damages can claim coverage from the at-fault driver, either through their insurance policy or by filing a personal injury lawsuit, after an accident occurs. In the case of an accident, drivers are expected to have the following minimum insurance coverage amounts:
- Bodily Injury liability: $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident;
- Property Damage liability: $25,000 per accident;
- Uninsured Motorist coverage: the same limits of 25/50/25 as above.
You may have the option to increase coverage rates or add extra benefits, such as underinsured motorist, preventive compensation, accident policy, and the above. If you are leasing or still paying for your vehicle, the titleholder may require you to carry this extra coverage.
The DOI further states that in the case that you are sued as a result of an accident, your liability insurance will also pay your lawyer’s costs. Suppose you are convicted of negligence in the cause of an accident. You get a warrant or other official notice in the mail. In that case, you can promptly contact the insurer. If a verdict is made or the court decides against you, your insurer will pay that amount up to your coverage limits. Any extra amount owed would be your responsibility.
Car Insurance Benefits Offered To South Carolina Drivers
Good drivers will always look for the Best car insurance South Carolina. Every insurance provider has different rates, search around, and find out where you can save the most money. Here are some of the possible benefits that are offered:
- 12-month Rate Protection: This will lock your insurance premium for a full year.
- New Car Replacement: If you damage your new car in the first 15 months or 15,000 miles after you purchase it, then the insurance company will help to replace it with the same make, model, or equipment.
- Accident Forgiveness: Exclude your first accident, and you won’t be charged for it.
- Disappearing Deductible: Reduce your crash premium on your South Carolina auto insurance per year, all the way to $0, as long as you keep a clean driving record.
- 24/7 Claim Service: Representatives are available 24 hours a day to help direct you through the claims process.
According to the Motor Vehicles Department of South Carolina, if you void the car insurance policies on a vehicle you are currently driving, you will possibly get a letter asking the insurance provider to check that you have new plans online and let the SCDMV know. If the SCDMV does not obtain the verification within 20 days, then:
- Your driving rights and car registration, and license plates will be suspended.
- You could be required to pay up to $400 to reinstate your driving and registration privileges.
Depend on your vehicle owned or not:
If you’re sued over and charged for driving without South Carolina auto insurance, if it’s a car you don’t own, your registration will likely be suspended for 30 days. You’ll also have to pay a $100 reinstatement charge.
When you are pulled over and charged for driving without insurance, and you are the vehicle owner, your license and registration will almost definitely be suspended before the SCDMV collects an “uninsured motorist charge” of $550. You will also have to ensure that the auto insurance provider checks the insured status with SCDMV for the next three years.
And if you don’t have current coverage, you’ll need to buy the Best car insurance South Carolina. If not, these will result in different sanctions:-
- First Offense
The State of South Carolina will confiscate your auto registration and license plate. The first time when you found driving without insurance. The Court will usually grant you a grace period of 20 business days to pay the charge or have evidence of insurance. However, whether you don’t reach the specified date or are uninsured, you’ll be charged with a misdemeanor and have to face an extra-fine that will range from $100 to $200. Alternatively, the Court may require you to serve 30-day prison time.
- Second Offense
If within ten years of your first violation, you are found driving uninsured again, you will have to pay a fine of $200. Plus, there’s a $5 surcharge every day before you can make a proper proof of insurance. In addition to this financial effect, you will also be thrown in jail for 30 days.
- Third or Subsequent Offense
Driving without insurance for the third time or more would have the most significant consequences within ten years of your last breach. You will be listed as a repeat offender and sentenced to 45 days to 6 months in jail. The prison sentence will depend on the number of times you have breached the South Carolina Insurance Act. Your driving rights, license plate, and car registration will also be revoked.
How Much Does Car Insurance Cost In South Carolina?
Annual car insurance quotes SC is around $160 higher than the national average. The yearly average representative premium for South Carolina is about $1,564. The national average for seven of the nine significant insurers in the state is $1,392.
The highest average premium in SC and what that organization is going to charge on the national level. Farmers Insurance has the highest annual representative rate in South Carolina at $2,642. On a national scale, Farmers are getting over 1,000 lower at $1,595 in our report.
On the other hand, in South Carolina, Geico’s $1,000 representative premium is just around $25 away from USAA. On a national scale, USAA and Geico again have the lowest annual averages in our report. In this case, USAA is the cheaper choice. USAA has a national yearly average representative rate of less than $900, while Geico has a national rate of just over $1,120.
Why Car Insurance Rates Vary In South Carolina
The car insurance rates vary year-over-year from state to state. The highest risk drivers pay the highest amount of auto insurance, regardless of the state. The Quadrant Information Services study reveals that novice drivers, those in high-risk regions, or those with a history of bad driving or financial irresponsibility would pay the highest premiums. Older drivers with good credit records and clean driving records pay lower rates because they are less likely to be involved in an accident.
South Carolina’s Insurance Department says that each company creates its rating driver scheme. “The number of allegations is the most significant influence on the rating process,” the Office reports.” Event frequency measures how often an insured occurrence occurs within a community in relation to the number of policies included in that category. In general, individuals with the characteristics of high-claim classes would be paying more for insurance coverage.
Beyond your rating category, other variables impacting auto insurance premiums include driving record, geographic area, gender, and age, marital status, prior insurance coverage, vehicle use, make and model of your vehicle, and previous insurance claims.
How An Anti-theft Device Car Insurance Discount Works?
Depending on where you live and what sort of anti-theft system is used, you could benefit from 5 percent to 25 percent on your insurance policies.
With the annual auto insurance premium at $800, this could mean saving $50 or $200 or more per year. After the first year or two, this can compensate for the cost of an anti-theft unit.
Here’s an even better reason to install anti-theft on your vehicle, as tempting as it is to save money on your car insurance: securing the vehicle and everything inside. The financial savings preventing a break-in could end up being very significant.
Providers that offer discounts for having an anti-theft device installed on your car:
Nearly all suppliers of car insurance will give you some discount on getting an anti-theft device. However, a couple of providers deliver the best car insurance south Carolina discounts than the rest:
- Geico: up to 25%
- 21st Century: 5%
- Esurance: 5% to 25%
- Allstate: up to 10%
- Erie: up to 15%
- Safeco: 10% to20%
Best And Cheap Car Insurance For Teenagers
Teens are more expensive to insure, and they pose a significant risk to car insurance providers. Not only do drivers between the ages of 16 and 19 have less experience behind the wheel, but they are also almost more likely than all drivers to be involved in a deadly collision, are more likely to speed, and have the lowest seatbelt use of all age range groups. But there are also ways that insurance will save teenagers money.
Price isn’t everything; of course, you don’t want your teen to hit the road with a skimpy insurance policy. See the top choices below for the Cheap auto insurance SC for teenagers.
- Best Overall: Geico is the best automotive insurer for teens who are restricted to their budget. It offers some of the lowest rates and different incentives for teens. When your teen becomes an adult and ready for their policy, you will benefit from the Family Price package that reduces the first individual policies.
- Best Policies: Nationwide provides a range of coverages, such as route protection and accident compensation, which can help a young driver. The SmartRide program also allows you to install a system in your teen’s car to track healthy driving habits, motivate your teen to stay safe, and potentially lower your cost of insurance.
- Best Customer Service: State Farm provides outstanding customer service and claims processing, but not always at the lowest price. Don’t worry, though; if your teen goes for most of the year to school, there are still plenty of discounts to choose from, including a very reduced rate. You can use the Steer Clear app to save money while your teen is a good driver.
- Best for Careful Drivers: Progressive is a perfect automobile insurance provider for teenagers who are driving safely. Progressive, like Nationwide, also provides a secure Snapshot driving system with an average $145 discount. The suppliers also offer GAP insurance, which is the ideal best deal for teens who drive a new, uninsured vehicle.
- Best for New Drivers: For any teen looking for first time insurance Erie is best. For teen drivers below 21 who live with their parents, this company offers a special discount. Erie provides several compensation choices, including first crash forgiving and a premium lock plan, which is best for teens.
Requirements For Teenagers In Getting Car Insurance
Teenage drivers are licensed to drive in South Carolina under special conditions. Teenagers who are 15 years of age are entitled to earn a beginner’s license. A parent or guardian must accompany teens to their nearest DMV office to get the cheap car insurance SC. Parents or guardians are expected to have their teen’s birth certificate, insurance records, social security card, and residence proof.
Fifteen-year-old teenagers who earn a beginner’s license have the luxury of driving from 6 a.m. To midnight if they are along with a licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age and is experienced. Teens may drive after midnight if accompanied by a licensed parent or guardian. The licensed driver accompanying the 15-year-old driver must be in the front passenger seat.
Teenagers whose age is 15 years and who have maintained a beginner’s license for 180 days or more may apply for a driver’s license. The teen must also have a minimum of 40 hours of the day driving and 10 hours of night driving. If these requirements have been met, a parent or guardian may bring his or her teen to the DMV to sign an application, show evidence that the teen has completed a driver’s education course and excellent school attendance.
The terms of a conditional driver’s license are not that different from those of a beginner’s license. A 21-year-old must accompany the teen driver, and a parent or guardian must accompany the teen after midnight. The teen may only have two passengers under the age of 21 in the car.
South Carolina teenagers who are 16 years of age with a beginner’s license for 180 days or more are eligible for a special limited driver’s license. The requirements and limitations for a special limited driver’s license shall be the same as for a conditional driver’s license:
- A teen may obtain a disclaimer from the DMV, enabling them to move between home, school, work, and vocational training.
- They must request two letters from their parents or guardians, a statement from their school official, and a letter from their employer.
At the age of 17, a South Carolina teen can gain full driving privileges if he or she has had a special limited driver’s license for at least one year, has no driving conviction, and has not been involved in a failed car accident. If a teen younger than 17 years of age accumulates more than six points for a special limited driver’s license, the license will be revoked for six months.
Seventeen-year-olds with a beginner’s license for at least 180 days are eligible for a full driver’s license. The parent or guardian must request an application from the local DMV. The DMV urges parents and guardians to enter into a parent-teen driving arrangement.
Once requirements have been met, a 17-year-old must pass vision and road skills exams. Drivers over 18 years of age may not require a parent or guardian’s permission to receive a full driver’s license but must pass vision and road skills tests.
How Much Does It Teen Car Insurance Cost?
When it comes to car insurance quotes SC, you can expect $1,105. However, car insurance for adolescents and young drivers is typically much higher than the average. In reality, teen car insurance rates may sometimes be more than a monthly lease or loan payment for their driving.
Teens are more expensive to cover because they pose a significant danger to auto insurers. Not only do drivers between the ages of 16 and 19 have less experience behind the wheel, but they are also almost three times more likely to be involved in a fatal accident than other drivers. Teens are also more likely to speed up and have the lowest rate of use of seatbelts of all age groups. Because of these causes, teenagers are being paid more for auto insurance — much more.
But there are also ways teens can save on insurance premiums. For example, joining the current parent policy would be much cheaper. Teens may also show accountability and low risk by regularly earning good grades, completing driver education classes, and using responsible driving habits, leading to higher results. Look for cheap car insurance SC, which provides full coverage for your teen.
What Happens If My Coverage Lapses?
If your insurance lapses, the insurance agent will immediately update the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles. Then you will also get a letter requesting that you validate the new policy within 20 days. Failure in this would result in the driver’s license, license plate, and car registration suspension.
If your coverage lapses and you cannot show evidence of insurance when you pull over, a warrant can be given and subject to a fine or prison time. You can face a permanent suspension of your driver’s license if you then refuse to supply evidence within 30 days. You will be forced to pay a $100 fine to reinstate your license.
Does South Carolina Offer A Good-driver Discount?
Good drivers may be eligible for discounts and cheap auto insurance SC, but the savings don’t stop here. Based on your lifestyle, policy management, age, and driving record. You could be eligible for several discounts that may add up to considerable savings. Many of these discounts include:
1) Accident-Free Discount
If your Car Insurance covers for at least three consecutive years an insurer without a chargeable crash within this time, you may qualify for a discount. This discount on auto insurance will grow over time if the policy remains with the same insurer and no chargeable collisions continue to occur in the future.
2) Drive Safe & Save Discount
Drivers who consent to share driving details and meet eligibility criteria will benefit from this auto insurance discount. When registering, customers are given the first discount of around 5%. The driving approach then decides your discount-up to 30%.
3) Driver Training Discount
Drivers will be eligible for this discount if they volunteer and excel in completing an appropriate driver’s training course under the age of 25 if:
- Was guided by a teacher who is qualified or approved to do such a course
- Includes practical traffic and safety training in the classroom and driving practice under the real road and transport conditions, as well as simulating mechanical equipment
Here are some additional benefits are given by companies:
- Passive Restraint
- Anti-Lock Brake
- New Car Discount
- Economy Car Discount
- Farm Vehicle
- Multiple Policy
- Senior Adult
- Defensive Driver
- Home Ownership
- Vehicle Safety
How Can I Get My Car Insurance Rates Reduced In South Carolina?
Cutting your monthly insurance rates is easier than you think. Unfortunately, many customers don’t ask their insurers about the discounts they get. It is important to know the core elements of your Car insurance quotes SC before you call your insurer. These include:
- If you were found responsible for an accident;
- If you’ve been cited for offending any traffic rule;
- If you’ve been sentenced to DUI or DWI;
- Your age and years of driving experience;
- Your location;
- The car you drive;
- Your total and annual mileage; and
- How you intend to use your vehicle.
If the case with the current insurer does not offer benefits, consider offers with other insurers. You must then find ways to indicate to your insurance provider that you are less of a liability to insure too. The following are particularly effective strategies:
- Avoid accidents for consecutive years
- Never offer traffic rules
- Not to drink and drive
- Buy a car that you can afford to insure
- Reduce your total mileage
If there are no incentives available to your case with the current insurer, consider accepting car insurance quotes SC from other insurance providers.
What Are Common Reasons Why Car Insurance Claims Are Denied?
Car insurance in South Carolina is mandatory. You have an insurance plan solely to guarantee you are protected from extreme financial pressures, which you will pay directly with your car. You expect an immediate refund if you demand damages for your vehicle, and if you can not recover your money, that can be quite frustrating. Therefore, to prevent a situation where you can make a claim, you should know the common concerns why your car insurance claim could be denied are.
1) You Didn’t Report the Accident
Your insurer would most likely need a police report to show that you were involved in an accident. Why does it happen? Insurers have to check thousands of false claims every year, so they have started fiercely battling slippery cases. Be sure you have told both the police and insurance providers of the accident to prevent the next claim.
2) Policy Doesn’t Cover the Types of Damage
Your insurance policy isn’t new in the market; donations throw out the manual! Understanding the policy takes only a few hours to read and will provide you with valuable details when it’s time to file a lawsuit.
Many drivers make lawsuits for damages that are not protected by their insurance policies and go through the hard work of filling out paperwork and gathering documentation to stop the rejection process.
3) Influence of Alcohol or Drugs
Driving when drunk is not only illegal but will also deny your claim. If an accident report shows you were affected by the collision, the insurer will immediately deny it.
4) You Didn’t Visit the Doctor
Your insurer would request a comprehensive medical report relating the injury to the accident if you have medical expenses. However, it may be difficult to link the injury to the accident if you postpone seeing the doctor.
5) You Didn’t Pay Your Premiums
You will watch nothing else but static if you miss a bill. The recurring installments of your contract would have an even more chilling impact. If you haven’t paid your premium, nearly every insurer doesn’t pay you for any losses or injuries.
Penalties For DUI In South Carolina
There are compulsory penalties for every conviction of driving under the influence. This means you will be subject to the basic penalty structure if you are found guilty. It is necessary to realize every situation is different, and there are some good reasons you are an applicant for the minimum and maximum penalty. Therefore, it is necessary to contact the nearest South Carolina DUI lawyer who practices in the county where your case is pending. The penalties may vary depending on certain factors under the DUI penalty law in South Carolina. The key considerations are the level of alcohol (BAC), and you have prior DUI conviction and, if so, then how many.
Common Myths About Car Insurance Accidents Claims In SC
Dealing with the aftermath of an automotive accident can be traumatic, significantly, if you were injured. Mistakes may make the procedure even more difficult and jeopardize the claim for fair compensation and cheap car insurance SC with such errors. Unfortunately, a lot of people make judgments when dealing with insurance providers based on common myths.
So, here are the seven widespread misconceptions about South Carolina auto accident insurance claims:
1) The Insurer Will Assist You
Although it may look as if insurance firms support you, the fact is that all they do is designed to make sure they pay for your injuries as little as possible. From your information to any mediation proposals they make, their efforts are primarily aimed at closing the claim as soon as possible and at minimal compensation.
2) From The Insurance Providers, You Will Not Get A Dime
However, even though insurance providers will concentrate on themselves, this does not mean that it is a waste of time to make an insurance claim. By comparison, you can only reclaim your losses if you file a lawsuit. You will keep the insurance company liable, and you can make sure you are given the money that you deserve if you employ a professional personal injury lawyer.
3) You Can’t Claim Without Video Evidence
Although videos are a way to prove a car collision, they are not the only form of proof that you can use to support the financial compensation claim. There are several possible sources of evidence of liability in South Carolina, from skid marks to mobile phone records.
4) You can not claim If The Other Driver didn’t receive the ticket
If the other driver gets the receipt, this may be something you might use to prove your claim. But if they did not accept a ticket, the demand for financial compensation may not affect the matter. Criminal processes are separate from your civil personal injury claim, and the procedure for proving a traffic violation is distinct from the norm for claiming civil liability.
5) You Are Not Eligible For Compensation If Partially At Fault
Though this is the rule for very few nations, it is not the norm in South Carolina. You can get reimbursement in South Carolina if you have been hurt by a car accident, as long as the leading cause of the crash (i.e., 51% or more) is not your fault. Your payout would be reduced proportionately to your fault percentage; however, you will still get an extensive recovery if your damages remain high.
6) You cannot File a claim without photos or call 911
If you’re involved in a car crash, dial 911 from the collision location. While this is usually good advice, if you didn’t dial 911, it doesn’t mean your claim to insurance is made when it begins. Similarly, though taking plenty of photographs of the location is a smart idea, if you forget (or if your cell phone fell in the crash), your lawyer would be able to use some facts to support an argument for compensation.
7) Hiring The Attorney Will Prolong The Process
Though you are willing to take your case to trial if you need a successful personal injury lawyer, the fact is that finding a lawyer is the best way of ensuring you get reasonable compensation as soon as possible. Recruiting a lawyer is also the best way to ensure that the current and potential damages are measured correctly and that you have the right to insurance harm. Because of the uncertainties and difficulties associated with the insurance industry, it is in your interest to hire an experienced lawyer’s services.
Last Few Words:
If you want to buy a new insurance policy or your existing car policy is up for renewal, choosing the best auto insurance can be challenging. Hopefully, this above guide will make your job easy to make the right decision and know everything about the car insurance policy in South Carolina.